Historical Sectors of Interest
Downtown Sector L'ancienne forge Riverin
This old forge was erected in 1840 by William Riverin. This location has known 4 blacksmiths all from the same family, the last being Louis Riverin (1918-2004) who has garnished international recognition as an artist and artisan. In operation till Louis Riverin’s death, the old forge Riverin has left its imprint on La Malbaie’s downtown core. Since March 2016, the Société d’histoire de Charlevoix is the owner of the old forge and will move into its offices as well as insure historical interpretation for this recognized cultural site.
Pointe-au-Pic Sector Le Manoir Richelieu
As the heart of Charlevoix's tourist attractions, le Manoir Richelieu was built in 1900. In that particular era, tourism was a luxurious affair. Famous Hollywood stars and even an American president frequented the first Manoir which was entirely built of wood. In 1928, a fire completely destroyed the building which was quickly rebuilt and reopened to welcome its clientele in 1929. Since then, the Manoir Richelieu, through many upsets throughout history, has conserved its grand reputation and continues to be the crown jewel in regional tourism industry.
Cap-à-l'Aigle Sector St. Peter's on the Rock
Built in 1922, this church bears witness to the presence of a Protestant Anglophone community in Cap-à-l'Aigle. Although less numerous than in Pointe-au-Pic, the English-speaking vacationers of Cap-à l'Aigle desiring to integrate more into the local community, erected a monument in front of the church in tribute to the English and French military who participated in the First World War (1914-1918) as testament to this desire for reconciliation
Sainte-Agnès Sector Parish Church
Classified as an historic monument on December 28, 1960 by the Government of Québec, the parish church of Sainte-Agnès was built of wood according to the will of the population of the parish. The plans of the church are those of the renowned architect Thomas Baillargé. Its construction was completed in 1844. Sainte-Agnès, a parish of the hinterland and located on a rather rocky ground never knew a great development. It was, however, at the heart of a legendary parish division that led to the birth of the parishes of Saint-Aimé-des-Lacs (1941) and Notre-Dame-des-Monts (1947). At one time, in the early 1940s, St. Agnès was nicknamed the "three-church parish".
Saint-Fidèle Sector La Crèmerie Saint-Fidèle
Dairy production is an important mainstay in Charlevoix’s agricultural activity. After 1880, the number of dairy cows increased. Cheese production then made its appearance rather quickly. La Crèmerie Saint-Fidèle, founded in 1902 by Joseph Bhérer, is one of Charlevoix's most prominent businesses in this field. The locally produced cheese curd soon earned a great reputation. Gruyère cheese and butter are also produced here. La Crèmerie Saint-Fidèle is part of the history of this village now attached to La Malbaie and it remains an invaluable contributor to its economy.
Rivière-Malbaie Sector Le Mont Grand-Fonds
The Mont Grand-Fonds Ski Resort opened in December 1973 thanks to the work of the Municipality of Rivière-Malbaie and the Clermont-La Malbaie Lions Club - Pointe-au-Pic. It later became the property of the City of La Malbaie. Mont Grand-Fonds has, since its opening, become a popular recreational site for the regional population and a unique attraction that has allowed the development of winter tourism in Charlevoix.
Société d’histoire de Charlevoix